The agenda of the Organizational Meeting October 22, 2018 – 6:10pm Village of Duchess Council Chambers

Yvonne Cosh – chair Tony Steidel Deborah Reid-Mickler Ryan Kiedrowski Kole Steinley Tina Preston

- 1. Oaths of Office were signed at the beginning of each term of office.
- 2. Establishing regular meeting dates, times and location for Council for the next twelve months;
- 087-18 <u>Mayor Steidel</u> motioned that Council meetings will remain on the 3rd Monday of each month from7pm 10pm at the Village of Duchess Council Chambers.

Carried unanimously

3. Establishing any *ad hoc* Council Committees;

No ad hoc committees are required at this time

- 4. Selection of the Mayor and Deputy Mayor by election of elected Councillors;
- O88-18 Councillor Kiedrowski made the motion to keep the appointments the same.
 - 5. Establish the remuneration, travel, subsistence and out of pocket expenses to be paid to Council members and members-at large; schedule C attached
- O89-18 <u>Councillor Preston</u> motioned to change the remuneration rates to the following, effective November 1st, 2018:

\$150 per meeting – under 4 hours & \$250 for meetings over 4 hours Mileage of 60 cents per Kilometer outside of the C of N boundaries Meals and lodging will be reimbursed with receipts Members at large are not paid

Carried unanimously

6. Any such other business as is required by the <u>Act</u>;

- 7. Annual appointment of professionals including but not limited to Assessor, Auditor, Legal Advisor, Engineer, Weed Inspector, CPO's and Banking Services.
- O90-18 <u>Councillor Reid-Mickler</u> motioned for the following appointment of professionals:

Assessor – Ryan Vogt with Benchmark Assessments

Auditor – Johnson Morrison & Hunter

Legal Advisor – Orval Shantz Law

Engineer – CIMA

Weed Inspector –Todd Green & Summer students as per the submitted list supplied by the County of Newell

CPO's – John Nesbitt & Devon Leeks – County of Newell

Development Officer - Kent Torkelson & John Nesbitt

Bylaw Officer - Kent Torkelson & John Nesbitt & Devon Leeks

ARB & LARB - County of Newell Committee

Banking – ATB Brooks Branch – Duchess Agency – 2 signers

Building Inspector – Wayne Dahl

Accountant - Sharon Zacharias

Carried unanimously

- 8. Referring to Sections 5.1.3.2 & 5.1.3.4 of this bylaw, the Mayor will lead Council through the Boards & Committees list. If a Councillor wishes to be the representative or alternate on a particular board or committee they must verbally indicate their desire when that board or committee is being addressed. In the case of two or more Councillors wishing to be the representative or alternate to a board or committee, a vote of Council shall be taken, by either show of hands or secret ballot. The voting method shall be determined by show of hands.
- 9. Should a Councillor dispute or disagree with an appointment recommendation, Council as a whole shall debate the appointment and, by majority vote, complete the final determination.
- <u>Mayor Steidel</u> Motioned that the following appointments to board and committees.

Carried unanimously

External Committees

- 1. Newell Foundation / Housing Kole Steinley
- 2. Duchess Library Ryan Kiedrowski
- 3. Shortgrass Library Deborah Reid-Mickler
- 4. FCSS Tina Preston
- 5. Regional landfill Tony Steidel
- 6. 911 Tina Preston
- 7. Newell Regional Services Corporation Deborah Reid-Mickler
- 8. Fire Ryan Kiedrowski & Tony Steidel
- 9. Agricultural Society Kole Steinley
- 10. Canadian Badlands Ryan Kiedrowski
- 11. Recreation / Parks / Cultural Ryan Kiedrowski
- 12. EXPO Tina Preston
- 13. Mayor & Reeves Tony Steidel
- 14. Joint Shared Services Deborah Reid-Mickler
- 15. NRTA Ryan Kiedrowski
- 16. Palliser Economic Partnership Deborah Reid-Mickler
- 17. Director of Emergency Management Tony Steidel
- 18. Municipal Planning Commission Kole Steinley, Ryan Kiedrowski, Deborah Reid-Mickler & Tony Steidel
- 19. Subdivision Appeal Board Tina Preston

Internal Committees

- 19. Water Sewer Garbage Tony Steidel
- 20. Administration Kole Steinley

Councillors will work towards written committee reports this year.

Financial presentations will be quarterly unless required.

A consent agenda format will be worked on for meetings.

O92-18 Councillor Steinley Motioned to allow for Councillors to attend one Committee conference per year as well as a total of three persons will attend AUMA each year on a rotating basis. As per Schedule "A".

Schedule "A" Remuneration

11. Councillor Remuneration - Meetings on the approved listing attached will be paid at a rate of \$150.00 per meeting under 4 hours and \$250.00 per meeting over 4 hours.

Mileage will be paid for travel outside of the County of Newell boundaries for Council approved meetings at a rate of .60 cents per kilometer.

12. Attendance at Conferences - Each Councillor may attend 1 conference per year and any others must be approved via motion at a Council meeting.

Additionally, AUMA attendance will include up to 3 Councillors or 2 Councillor and 1 Administrative Staff. Attendance will be on a bi-annual rotation. Councillors that are unable to attend in their year may make arrangements to trade with other Councillors.

13. Out of pocket expenses

Hotels, meals, parking and other expenses will be reimbursed to Councillors and shall be kept to a reasonable amount per Councillor.