Minutes of the Organizational Meeting

October 18, 2016 – 7:00pm

Village of Duchess Council Chambers

Councillors present: Mayor Bruce Snape

Deputy Mayor Wayne Dahl Councillor Tony Steidel Councillor Shannyn Rus Councillor Darren Drader

Staff present: Yvonne Cosh – Chair & Sharon Zacharias

Motions

O65-16 Councillor Shannyn Rus motioned to set the dates for Council meetings as

the 3rd Monday of each month, 7pm – 10pm in Village of Duchess Council

Chambers.

Board & the SDAB.

Carried Unanimous

066-16 Deputy Mayor Wayne Dahl motioned to keep the positions of Mayor and

Deputy Mayor as they are currently. No other motions were received.

Carried Unanimously

Mayor Bruce Snape motioned to keep the appointments to the following boards and committees as they are currently. The members at large will also remain the same with Jennifer Thom representing us at the Newell Housing Authority & Recreation/Parks/Cultural Board; Terry Riles representing us at FCSS; and Dale Stolz representing the Village on Recreation/Parks/Cultural

911 Shannyn Rus Newell Foundation Wayne Dahl

Regional Landfill

FCSS

Newell Regional Services Corporation

Disaster Services Director

Tony Steidel

Darren Drader

Tony Steidel

Recreation Parks Cultural Wayne Dahl

Fire Tony Steidel & Bruce Snape

Duchess Library Board Shannyn Rus

Shortgrass Library Board Shannyn Rus
Mayor & Reeves Bruce Snape
Agricultural Society Darren Drader
Canadian Badlands Shannyn Rus
Water Sewer Garbage & PW Tony Steidel

Administration Bruce Snape & Wayne Dahl

EXPO Bruce Snape
Palliser Economic Development Shannyn Rus

Carried Unanimous

Ocuncillor Darren Drader motioned to set the remuneration for all meetings within the County of Newell boundaries at \$100. Mileage costs will be derived from the Ab Government and paid when approved meetings are outside of the County boundaries. Out of pocket expenses will be paid with the submission of receipts. Members at large will not receive remuneration unless a certain board provides for it.

Carried Unanimous

O69-16 Councillor Tony Steidel motioned for the appointment of the following persons to the Positions listed.

Assessor – Ryan Vogt with Benchmark Assessments

Auditor – Johnson Morrison & Hunter

Legal Advisor – Orval Shantz

Engineer – Brisben and Sentis (BSEI)

Weed Inspector –Todd Green & Summer students as per the yearly

submitted list supplied by the County of Newell

CPO's – John Nesbitt, Devon Leeks – County of Newell

Development Officer – Kent Torkelson & John Nesbitt

Banking – ATB Brooks Branch

Bylaw Officer – Kent Torkelson, John Nesbitt & Devon Leeks

ARB & LARB – County of Newell Committee

Carried Unanimous

070-16 Councillor Shannyn Rus motioned to keep the committee representation as it is currently. No changes are required. Newell Foundation / Housing Wayne **Duchess Library** Shannyn 3. Shortgrass Library Shannyn **FCSS** 4. Bruce 5. Regional landfill Tony 911 Shannyn 7. Newell Regional Services Corporation Darren 8. Fire Tony & Bruce 9. Agricultural Society Darren 10. Canadian Badlands Shannyn 11. Recreation / Parks / Cultural Wayne 12. EXPO Bruce 13. Mayor & Reeves Bruce 14. Joint Shared Services Shannyn 15. Newell Regional Transportation Committee Darren 16. Palliser Economic Partnership Shannyn 17. Disaster Services Tony Wayne 18. Recreational Parks Cultural 19. Water Sewer Garbage Tony 20. Administration Bruce & Wayne AUMA attendance will be open to any 2 Councillors per year or 1 Councillor and 1 Admin staff. Carried Unanimous Adjourned 7:10 Mayor Bruce Snape **CAO Yvonne Cosh**